Show Notes: Go Ahead

Show Notes: Go Aheaddavy_crockett_blog

David Crockett was the subject of Michael Wallis’ 2011 book “David Crockett, The Lion of The West.” Mr. Wallis shares his insights into Crockett’s character that resulted in his breaking with Andrew Jackson and his defense of the Five Tribes (The Cherokees, Choctaws, Chickasaws, Creeks and Seminole) against removal from their homelands.

Far from the portrayal by Fess Parker in the Disney television series, Wallis, an expert storyteller, introduces us to the little known Representative Crockett and discusses his political exploits.

Mr. Wallis has authored several books including:

  • The Best Land Under Heaven: The Donner Party in the Age of Manifest Destiny 2017
  • Billy the Kid: The Endless Ride. 2008.
  • The Lincoln Highway: Coast to Coast from Times Square to the Golden Gate.  2007.
  • Mankiller: A Chief and Her People.  1994.
  • Pretty Boy: The Life and Times of Charles Arthur Floyd.  1992.
  • Route 66: The Mother Road 75th Anniversary Edition.  1990.

He is currently working on his twentieth book, a biography of the Outlaw Queen, Belle Starr. It will be available by the Christmas season of 2020.